NORTHERN COLORADO TRAIL RIDERS
Contact your local Colorado State Patrol office for Colorado VIN Certification information. The fee for a VIN inspection is $20.00 Listing of Metro Denver VIN inspection and verification locations. These documents must be submitted with the DR 2686; A completed DR 2087, "Verification of Vehicle Identification Number." Proof of Ownership, (one of the following): •  Manufacturers Statement of Origin (MSO) •  Bill of Sale (stating sold as off-road) •  Dealers Invoice(stating sold as off-road) Head Lamps: At least one and not more than two head lamps. Every head lamp shall be located at a height measured from the center of the head lamp of not more than 54 inches or less than 24 inches. Note: Head lamps, tail and stop lamps must be equivalent to lamps used as original equipment on motorcycles manufactured for highway use Tail and Stop Lamps and Reflectors At least one tail lamp, one stop lamp and one reflex reflector. Such lamps and reflectors may be incorporated in a single unit and shall be at a height measured from the center of the lamp of not more than 72 inches or less than 15 inches. Brakes: At least one brake which may be operated by hand or foot. Horn: Electric horn must be in good working order and capable of emitting sound audible under normal conditions for a distance of not less than 200 feet. Muffler / Spark Arrestor: An adequate muffler in constant operation and properly maintained to Colorado USFS stardards to prevent any excessive noise. To operate an Off Highway Vehicle (OHV) in Colorado, the following sound limits must be met:  OHVs will be tested using the SAE J 1287 stationary 20" pipe test 99 dB(A) if manufactured before 1/1/1998 96 dB(A() if manufactured after   1/1/1998 Spark Arrestor: U.S. Forest Service as evidenced by the bona fide permanent marking of “qualified” or “approved” on the spark arrester https://www.fs.fed.us/eng/pubs/html/03511307/03511307.htm Mirror: A mirror so located and so constructed to reflect to the rider a free and unobstructed view of the highway for a distance of at least 200 feet to the rear of such motorcycle. Tires: Equipped with DOT tires marked as certificed for highway use. Offical Colo dept of revenue bill of sale or a notarized copy stating "for off road use" If your MSO does not state off road use then you have to have an additional bill of sale Be sure to take a copy of the compliance form to the inspection with you.  The trooper will have the VIN form. As of June 1 there is a $25 per month fine ($100 max) for not registering your vehicle within 30 days. Since there is no way to register/title an offroad bike the system will acess the fine automaticly.  Meaning if you have owned your off-road bike for years and now want to convert to on road use you will be fined for not registering within 30 days of purchase.  to avoid the fine they need to use the compliance cert date as the sale date to avoid the fine.  You will receive a refund in 6-7 weeks.   So if you want to plate your bike make sure to tell the clerk to use the cert date not the sale date. 
Head Lamps
Tail and Stop Lamp
Brakes
Horn
Muffler / Spark Arrestor
Mirror
Tires
Tires
Contact your local Colorado State Patrol office for Colorado VIN Certification information. The fee for a VIN inspection is $20.00 Listing of Metro Denver VIN inspection and verification locations. These documents must be submitted with the DR 2686; A completed DR 2087, "Verification of Vehicle Identification Number." Proof of Ownership, (one of the following): •  Manufacturers Statement of Origin (MSO) •  Bill of Sale (stating sold as off-road) •  Dealers Invoice(stating sold as off-road) Head Lamps: At least one and not more than two head lamps. Every head lamp shall be located at a height measured from the center of the head lamp of not more than 54 inches or less than 24 inches. Note: Head lamps, tail and stop lamps must be equivalent to lamps used as original equipment on motorcycles manufactured for highway use Tail and Stop Lamps and Reflectors At least one tail lamp, one stop lamp and one reflex reflector. Such lamps and reflectors may be incorporated in a single unit and shall be at a height measured from the center of the lamp of not more than 72 inches or less than 15 inches. Brakes: At least one brake which may be operated by hand or foot. Horn: Electric horn must be in good working order and capable of emitting sound audible under normal conditions for a distance of not less than 200 feet. Muffler / Spark Arrestor: An adequate muffler in constant operation and properly maintained to Colorado USFS stardards to prevent any excessive noise. To operate an Off Highway Vehicle (OHV) in Colorado, the following sound limits must be met:  OHVs will be tested using the SAE J 1287 stationary 20" pipe test 99 dB(A) if manufactured before 1/1/1998 96 dB(A() if manufactured after   1/1/1998 Spark Arrestor: U.S. Forest Service as evidenced by the bona fide permanent marking of “qualified” or “approved” on the spark arrester https://www.fs.fed.us/eng/pubs/html/03511307/03511307.htm Mirror: A mirror so located and so constructed to reflect to the rider a free and unobstructed view of the highway for a distance of at least 200 feet to the rear of such motorcycle. Tires: Equipped with DOT tires marked as certificed for highway use. Offical Colo dept of revenue bill of sale or a notarized copy stating "for off road use" If your MSO does not state off road use then you have to have an additional bill of sale Be sure to take a copy of the compliance form to the inspection with you.  The trooper will have the VIN form. As of June 1 there is a $25 per month fine ($100 max) for not registering your vehicle within 30 days. Since there is no way to register/title an offroad bike the system will acess the fine automaticly.  Meaning if you have owned your off-road bike for years and now want to convert to on road use you will be fined for not registering within 30 days of purchase.  to avoid the fine they need to use the compliance cert date as the sale date to avoid the fine.  You will receive a refund in 6-7 weeks.   So if you want to plate your bike make sure to tell the clerk to use the cert date not the sale date. 
Head Lamps
Tail and Stop Lamp
Brakes
Horn
Muffler / Spark Arrestor
Mirror
Tires
Tires